Due to high number of cases of building collapse in Lagos State, the Lagos State Government passed into law, the Lagos State Urban and Regional Planning and Development Law 2010 (“Planning Law”), the law established 3 (three) physical planning and development agencies under the Ministry of Physical Planning and Urban Development (the “Ministry”) namely:

  • The Lagos State Physical Planning Permit Authority (LASPPPA) which is saddled with the task of processing and issuing planning permits in the state;
  • The Lagos Building Control Agency (LASBCA) which is vested with the responsibility of monitoring and enforcing building control regulations; and
  • The Lagos State Urban Renewal Agency (LASURA) which bears the responsibility of implementing the state policy on urban renewal and the upgrade of slums in Lagos.

For the purpose of obtaining pre-construction approvals and permit in Lagos State, the agency responsible for issuing approvals is the Lagos State Physical Planning Permit Authority (LASPPPA), applications for construction approval and permit are made to the district office of the agency, approvals are only granted with express approval of the Governor of Lagos State acting through the Honourable Commission of Physical Planning and Urban Development.